General Skilled Migration (GSM) – Attracting skilled migrants to Australia

The General Skilled Migration Program is a point – based system designed to attract highly qualified and experienced professionals in occupations that are in demand. The programme aims to attract highly employable people to migrate to Australia. On 1st July 2012, the Department of Immigration and Border Protection introduced the Australian Skillselect system, which brought major changes to generalised migration.

SkillSelect is an online service that helps Australia regulate the inflow of skilled migrants in order to avoid market saturation in certain fields. It also supports the government in managing who can apply for skilled visa applications.

General Requirements Needed to Apply for an Expression of Interest

There are basic requirements you must meet to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) before you can lodge a visa application.

  • Occupation

Your occupation that matches your skills and qualifications, must be on the relevant occupation list for the purpose of General Skilled Migration.

  • Age

Be less than 45 years of age when you are invited to apply.

  • Skills Assessment

You must have a positive skills assessment from the relevant skills assessing authority for your nominated occupation.

  • Points Test

You must score at least 65 on the points test unless your occupation is one that requires a higher score. Legislative Instrument (IMMI18/067), indicates the Pool and Pass Marks for General Skilled Migration Visas to Australia.

  • English

Applicants are required to demonstrate their English language skills. You can prove that your English language ability is at the appropriate level by:

  • Showing that you have studied in English for at least five years in one or more of the following countries: Australia, United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand, the United States, South Africa, or the Republic of Ireland
  • Being enrolled by your education provider
  • Passing an approved test of your English language ability.


General Skilled Visa Options

Skilled Independent Subclass 189:

Permanent Skilled visa option, the skilled independent does not require sponsorship by a relative or state/territory government.

Skilled Nominated Subclass 190:

A permanent skilled visa requiring nomination by an Australian State or Territory government.

Skilled Nominated or Sponsored Provisional Subclass 489:

This visa allows skilled workers to live and work in specified regional areas in Australia for up to four years. You will need to be sponsored by either an eligible Australian relative or a state or territory government of Australia.

Skilled Regional Subclass 887 Visa:

This is a permanent visa for people who have lived and worked in specified areas of regional Australia. To qualify for this visa, you will be required to have lived in a specified regional area of Australia for at least two years and have worked full time in a specified regional area for at least one year.

Temporary Graduate Visa subclass 485:

The Graduate visa (subclass 485) allows international students to live, study and work in Australia on a temporary basis after they have completed two academic years of study in Australia. This visa has two streams: Graduate Work and Post Study Work.

For more information about Migration and Visas, please stay connected and we shall update more! If you have any enquiry, please contact our Red Earth Migration Agents. You can call us on (08) 6161 9239 or email us at

Related posts