Find out the requirements for Skills Assessment

Each eligible occupation has a specific skill assessing authority. The assessing authority will assess the applicant against specific requirements to see if they will meet the criteria to use this pathway. Each occupation requires an applicant to meet different criteria.

Direct permanent residence applications (with a few limited exceptions) will require an applicant to first obtain a positive skills assessment in their occupation.

Different skills assessing authorities will assess different occupations and these authorities will have their own standardized criterion, some of which can be very specific. To ascertain the requirements for a skills assessment in your occupation, an applicant will need to first confirm who the relevant assessing authority is, and then cross check the requirements set out by this authority for their occupation. some authorities offer various assessments for different visa types

A partial list of assessing authorities is listed below. Please see the Skilled Occupation List for the assessing body matching your skill set:

  • ACS – Australian Computer Society

This authority assesses computer professionals like Programmers, System Designers, System Mangers etc. Refer to the SOL for more occupations.

  • AMC – Australian Medical Council

This authority assesses Medical professionals.

  • ANMAC – Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council

This authority assesses Registered Nurses, Midwifes, Mental Health and Developmental Disability Nurses.

  • APEC – Australian Pharmacy Examining Council

This authority assesses Pharmacists.

  • CPA – Certified Practising Accountants of Australia

This authority assesses Accounting professionals and external Auditors.

  • IEA – Institution of Engineers, Australia

This authority assesses Professional Engineers.

  • Teaching Australia – Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership

This authority assesses Teachers.

  • TRA – Trades Recognition Australia

This authority assesses all Trades.

  • VETASSESS – Vocational Education and Training Assessment Services

This Authority assesses a variety of Managers, Professionals and Associate Professionals.

Majority of assessing authorities cite processing times of 10 – 12 weeks. This timeframe runs from the date that you provide all of the requisite documentation.

In some cases, the authority will insist that all applications must be “decision ready”, meaning that failure to provide all documentation in line with their requirements from the outset, could lead to a negative assessment outcome, without any opportunity to provide further evidence.

A skills assessment is only valid until the expiry date specified on the assessment, or when a period of three years from the date of issue has elapsed, whichever occurs first.

If you would like to find out more, please get in touch with our experts. You can book an appointment by calling us on (08)6161 9239 or email us at admin@redearthmigration.com.au

Related posts

Labour Market Testing

On March 18, 2018, the Home Affairs Department implemented the TSS visa, effectively eliminating its predecessor, sub-class 457 visa.There should be many requirements for an employer to nominate an employee for a TSS visa. One such requirement is that...

Read More